Quote

It has been over a month since wedding madness overtook my life and sent me into a flurry of activity. Over the past month I have played the role of tour guide, host, florist, chef, wedding planner, friend and bride. I have welcomed new and old friends, marveled in the union of my two families and celebrated my wedding  sailing along the Bosphorus. Here is the first flurry of images from the wedding…

                   Photoshoot Location: The backstreets of Arnavutköy

Hotel: Villa Denise Hotel, Arnavutköy

Wedding Site: Gümüş Damla Yatı, Kuruçeşme

Photographer: Brother of the Bride

Some stories:

1.) I started the day with a bird pooping on my head…which has never happened before in my life, and represents good luck in Turkey. Usually people are advised to buy a lottery ticket after the event, I got married…perhaps the same thing?!

2.) My hair was transformed in ways I did not think was possible

3.) I LOVED my dress. My mom made the sash and the veil. It was perfect.

4.) We did a photo-shoot with our photographer on the backstreets of a small seaside neighborhood  It was so fun to wander the backstreets with our wedding party. Bridesmaids and groomsmen do not exist in Turkey, so we were a spectacle  People stopped us to take our picture. One mother wanted a photo with her son and my bridesmaids. It was so funny.

5.) I had both my parents walk me down the aisle. The DJ played the most bizarre version of ‘Here Comes the Bride’ that I have ever heard in my life, and the Turks were so confused by the rice-throwing tradition that I was bombarded with rice after 3 steps down the aisle,…before the ceremony even began

6.) It was so incredible to see the generosity, love and warmth which welcomed me into this family. It was really humbling and amazing.

7.) My brother was the life of the party.  He got everyone to dance (including Caglayan’s grandmother and coworkers) and danced the whole night with a bottle of wine in his hands

8. )My dad gave a speech during the ceremony and included a Turkish quote. People cheered. It was adorable.

9.)When we exchanged our vows and the rings, all I saw was Caglayan. It felt like the world stopped.

10.) Our party favors were a box of M&Ms with our faces on them. It was hilarious!

 11.) I danced like a madwoman as the traditional Turkish wedding line wrapped itself around us. By the end of the night I was barefoot and my dress was covered with wine. success!

My Istanbul Wedding

4 responses »

  1. Hello Dear,

    I found your blog because I was looking for weddings at Gümüş Damla yacht. I live in US and I want to have my wedding in Istanbul. I really really appreciate if you let me ask you some questions about your wedding. My email is nooshi.bn86@gmail.com please email me so that I know you let me ask you my questions:) Thank you so much.

  2. Congratulations! I am also getting married in Istanbul next year to my Turkish fiance and am trying to figure out how to merge the very secular (and uneventful) Turkish marriage ‘ceremony’ with a more elaborate walk down the isle. I really don’t want to miss out on the walking down the isle experience. Any suggestions on how you incorporated your own traditions?

Leave a Reply

