Quote

Yes, the rumors are true. The facebook frenzy is difficult to avoid, and my excitement is impossible to describe. Every time I look at my finger I am shocked by the sparkling reminder of the extraordinary circumstances that cement our bond and enhance each and every step we take as we build our life together. I have shared the story with a few friends, but wanted to meet the curiosity in a public space with a limited audience. To my loyal followers, here are the details of the proposal (if you have not heard the story already;)

It was a perfect surprise, and perfectly fitting for the two of us. It was a normal Monday night, and you-know-who told me that he wanted to take me out to dinner because he anticipated a busy week at work and wanted to ensure that we spent time together (neither of these two events were out of the ordinary). However, by the time my day was finished, I was exhausted and craved some time at home. I attempted to cancel the plans, but he was determined. He came home and told me he wanted to spoil me. Everything he said and did seemed too good to be true (I even started to joke that tonight must be the night, without truly believing it. I even gave him a pat down looking for a box!). We headed to Taksim and to our favorite Italian restaurant, where we celebrate Valentine’s day and our anniversaries. The owner knows us, and always goes out of his way to ensure the night is perfect in every way. There are no more than 15 tables in the small, dimly lit room. It is warm and cozy. There are checkered tablecloths and candles on every table. Frank Sinatra was playing in the background. We ordered a bottle of Italian wine, and all of our favorite dishes to share. We talked about the day, and started to reminisce about our time together in New York and DC, our travels in Rome and Cappadocia. The next thing I knew he was asking questions about my favorite days we’ve spent together, and still without any awareness on my part, we discussed all of our favorite memories and each of the special experiences we have shared. He asked me to identify my favorite evening that we have shared together, and I walked right into it…I said that while the night we were currently sharing was not out of the ordinary, I found it perfect in every way;) After some subtle build-up, he eventually said to me something like, “I feel so lucky to have you in my life. You have made me so happy. there is nothing that would make me happier, or feel luckier than if you said yes to my next question….will you marry me?” He slid the ring box across the table, I shouted ‘of course’ with delight and then burst into tears of joys. Shock and joy consumed me, and my eyes went back and forth between him and the ring in front of me. It felt like time stopped and we were the only two people in the room. Eventually, the owner sent over a free dessert and came over to congratulate us. We demonstrated an excessive (by Turkish standards) amounts of public affection as we slowly wandered home. We laughed a lot. It was another special and joyous day in our life together. I really could not be happier.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


We are engaged!

Comments are closed.