Beauty and the Beast Bewitches a New Audience

Standard

My class recently earned a popcorn party for their excellent manners and behavior at lunch time. The school-wide lunch competition deserves a post of its own, but the movie party is today’s topic. After a passionate vote, we selected Beauty and the Beast, one of my absolute favorite movies when I was a child. In fact, I was probably the same age as my students when Beauty and the Beast first arrived in theaters. I remember requesting to go each weekend the film played at the funky old theater near our house in West Seattle. The free-spirited character of Belle, and her love for books appealed to me. The music and the characters thrilled me. And, all of this came rushing back to me, as I munched on popcorn with two adorable girls fighting for my lap. The boys covered their eyes for the kissing scenes and the entire class was captivated whenever the beloved characters broke into song. While the entire film was dubbed in Turkish, memories from my childhood filled in the gaps, providing me with the opportunity to enjoy every minute of the film with my students.

Curious to see Beauty and the Beast with a Turkish twist? Here is the scene for ‘Be Our Guest’  We devoted 30 minutes of our evening to watching various disney songs in Arabic, French, Turkish, German and Spanish. In every language, the magic and meaning still comes through….

See for yourself…

Leave a Reply

